The True Lies

It all sounds good
until it all comes on.

I see him behind every door
until the day is done. 

Menacing and aggravating
he is so bothersome
and rumbles and churns
every conscious minute--
if I can hit him
then I can win it.

It all sounds so good
and I hope I am a liar. 

Just to test your faith
because he is a seer. 

          a prophet of two tales,
          two lies and a mess of lines
          leading into not a man's land

Can you trust your mother
or the tales she used to tell you?

Can you touch the true lies 
that give a riddling hue?

Once, man, I asked him a question
and I got a slap in return. 

Once I sent over a drink
and in her bed I burned.

I know that he is reading
and wants to make more lies
about the way I carry myself--
     more for him to despise.
What do you think? Criticisms and praise welcome.

  • ANTHOLOGY VIEWS

    • 5,581 peeks
  • Months through the ANTHOLOGY

