Running

The way the world spins
     and I can't find my feet.

Spinning so fast and when I jump
     I find myself somewhere else.

Rolling through, I see the golden arches
     the fidgety fingers grasping wheels
     doves flying high and lo
     and sleepy eyes passing by.

The smoke rises to the dashboard window
     the wind blasts through the door
     the sun lifts behind the landscape
     and all seems right for a while.

The destination seems forever far away
     passing signs for rest and reconciliation
     your midnight dinners, your halfway homes
     your younger sister behind the cabin.

Trees and mountains line this side
     and a deep valley falls behind.

The rumbling under my feet
     and a fleet runs to the beat.
What do you think? Criticisms and praise welcome.

  • ANTHOLOGY VIEWS

    • 5,555 peeks
  • Months through the ANTHOLOGY

