Been Lost

"We've been smoking joints,
     We've been lost all day."

I've been lost for nineteen years,
     Walking down streets I thought
     Led there. 

Finding new holes in my pocket
     That drop all things dear. 

My ink has been leaking
     From every pen I keep. 

They lead me around the way
     As a narrow-sighted sheep. 

I would get shot and never 
     Know the difference. 

I let my oppressors grow,
     Taking in the hindrance. 

The taste of life has all but
     Fleet from my lips. 

I can wake in a living 
     Dream on a sunken ship. 

Make what allowances you would
     Like, I still lead a loose tongue. 

I've been lost for nineteen years,
     My illusion runs on long.
Comments
2 Responses to “Been Lost”
  1. rawencounterswithestella says:

    Love these last lines:

    “I’ve been lost for nineteen years,
    My illusion runs on long.”

    Fabulously done!! :)

What do you think? Criticisms and praise welcome.

  • ANTHOLOGY VIEWS

    • 5,581 peeks
  • Months through the ANTHOLOGY

